JUST DON’T MIND THE ONE WITH THE BIG NOSE :-)

IMG_20140502_184800

What’s behind me is the name of the small but elegant culinary school here in Davao City where I participated a 2-day workshop on Basic Cakes and Frosting. The school’s name is so enticing as it can get; Gourmet Bites. It was really a joy when I entered the 10-person capacity baking area; I felt so at home, imagining the smell of baked cakes and the feel of the utensils and wearing the cap and the apron were really, really good. I could have been a Pastry Chef. Could have been. 🙂 But, anyway, it was a very fruitful experience. Learning the basics is just the beginning for me. I felt the want to pursue this long overdue dream but just don’t have the luxury of time. Chef Simone, our mentor, was so indulgent in giving away tips for a successful baking.

Two months ago, I was so into losing weight and stuff, but now I am in my new hype: baking. Such amusing irony of both worlds 🙂 I am always into a lot of things; new flavor of activity every month. The idea was not really new; just in hiatus for several short periods in my lifetime during health consciousness moments. 🙂  I get excited with learning new ideas, so pardon my extreme likes for trying desperately to lose calories today and learning how to gain it back the next day (haha). Either way, it just goes to show that I fancy anything about kitchens; the good and bad about the place. 🙂 And one thing I love about kitchens, everything in it never goes out of style; no new or old technology, so no missing out on good food and fun.

Eventhough I can’t be the pastry chef I wanted to be, I still plan to continue the cake baking modules of the school on my own pace and plans to open a small coffee and pastry shop soon. How’s that for a dream? 🙂

I would like to share one recipe that we made during the work shop. My finished product was not perfect, but already very good enough for me (Pic of my finished product on your right) Our mentor Chef’s demo cake was perfect. So, along with the recipe, I will include the useful tips she gave that I did not execute properly (haha). Here goes the recipe :

MOCCHA CHIFFON CAKE WITH WHIPPED MOCCHA FROSTING

IMG_20140503_102253

Ingredients:

Cake Flour              1 1/4 cup

Baking Powder      1 1/2 tsp

Salt                             1/2 tsp

White Sugar            1/2 cup

Coffee Powder        1 tbsp

 

Egg yolks                   4 pcs

Vegetable oil           1/4 cup

Vanilla                       1/2 tsp

Water                         1/2 cup

 

For Egg-white Meringue:

Egg whites               4 pcs

Cream of Tartar     1/2 tsp

White sugar             1/4 cup

 

Procedure:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 deg F. Lightly grease the bottom of the pan only.
  2. In a bowl, combine the cake flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, and coffee and set aside.
  3. Gradually combine the egg yolks, vegetable oil, vanilla, and water. Beat with a whisk until the egg yolk mixture is well-blended and turns light yellow in color. Pour the egg yolk mixture into the flour mixture and combine well.
  4. In a clean bowl, whisk the egg whites using an electric mixer until it looks bubbly; add in the cream of tartar until it starts to look foamy, then add in the sugar. Beat at high speed until stiff peak stage is reached (but not dry)
  5. Fold in the egg whites into the flour-egg yolk mixture. This is the most tricky part. By folding, means “literally” folding in SLOWLY the foamy egg white meringue to the flour-egg mixture using a rubber spatula or a wire whisk. DO NOT stir or whisk because the air in the egg-white meringue will escape and the mixture will become watery; it will ruin the foamy consistency of the mixture. The aim is to maintain the foamy consistency so that the cake will be soft and fluffy. (This is where I got a little bit off; my finished product was semi-compact because my cake mixture became watery)
  6. Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake immediately for 25-30 mins.
  7. Remove cake from oven and let cool completely

 

For Whipped Moccha Frosting:

Non-dairy Whipping Cream                      1 cup   (chilled overnight)

Powdered Sugar                                             2/3 cup

Coffee Paste                                                      Combination of 1 tbsp coffee + 1.5 tsp hot water

 

Procedure:

  1. Whip the cream until thick and fluffy
  2. Add the Powdered Sugar
  3. Add in the Coffee Paste
  4. Ice over the cake.
  5. Sprinkle finished product with favorite topping.
  6. Lastly, enjoy! 🙂

I personally love the coffee-taste of this cake. If you happen to try the recipe, I would like to hear feed backs. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “JUST DON’T MIND THE ONE WITH THE BIG NOSE :-)

I so love to hear from you! :-)

