MY GREAT EXPECTATIONS

This is my 100th impromptu post, hoping to cover a significant subject for an important milestone of my blogging endeavor. 100 is just a number, but everything about it sounds so centennial (?), and for my 100th post, I would like to tell how my first week with my new job went.

I’ve been very busy this past week as I have just began a new career path; I got my dream job. It has different working hours and I love it. For the past 11 years, I am working on shifts including graveyard shifts whole year round even on holidays, Saturdays, and Sundays. Last week was the first time I worked a day job on regular work days (Monday-Friday). How’s that for a start, right? πŸ™‚ I have my own Office chair and desk, my own corner. I cannot be more happier when I can already have time for my daughter on a regular basis. I patiently waited for this to happen 3 years ago, even thought of resigning when I sometimes lose hope. But with steadfast prayers, my dream became a reality.

But even if it is my dream job, I expect it to be worse than my previous job in terms of workload. It came with a bigger responsibility and higher accountability; the high price of dreams served on a silver platter.

My first days at work was okay; a few bumps on the road while trying to get the feel of the people around and adjusting to the new environment. My first struggle was my body clock adjusting to the new cycle; I feel sleepy on mornings, but I am fighting it by drinking lots of water and peeing every now and then. πŸ™‚

With my job before, there were only few people around my station; three is already a crowd, but now in my new office, there are at least 25 people with 25 different personalities and attitude. Everyday was a roller coaster ride and everybody minds everybody; I am not surprised when I hear gossips about everybody from time to time. I just laugh when I hear one unintentionally, but sometimes when the gossip is so juicy, I cannot resist asking about it. (haha)

My new duties and responsibilities were heavier than I thought at first; but I am now more challenged and inspired to work hard. I think of it as a stepping stone to a better career; that lightens everything and made me prepared for the worst days yet to come, including a terrorist boss (haha).

All in all, what I expect for my first 5 days were all bits of my expectations and more. It was beautiful, challenging, and it is all I ever wanted.

And my new career chapter begins.

 

3 thoughts on “MY GREAT EXPECTATIONS

I so love to hear from you! :-)

