DP: I DID IT MY WAY!

Describe the one decision in your life where you wish you could get a “do-over.” Tell us about the decision, and why you’d choose to take a different path this time around.

I remember it all perfectly. That was January of ’95. I chose to attend the a regional athletic meet over the World Youth Day held in Manila, Philippines. The two events were held on the same week of that month. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think that was the 2nd time that the late Pope John Paul II visited the Philippines.

For the whole month of December 1994, I was training for the the incoming Southern Mindanao Regional Meet representing Davao del Norte delegation. I was one of the athletes of the Women’s Volleyball team. I could always decide to leave the team and see the Pope, but I decided otherwise. It was during one game of the training that I was injured; my left middle finger is now forever with a malformed bone.

When I came back to school and met with some classmates who had been to the WYD and had seen Pope John Paul II, they had wonderful stories of experiences. I don’t like telling them mine.

If I had the power to turn back time, I would choose to attend the World Youth Day. I should not have suffered the pain and the regret.

But this is just for today’s challenge. No regrets, really. Just lessons learned. 🙂

2 thoughts on “DP: I DID IT MY WAY!

I so love to hear from you! :-)

