WWC: LEAVING MY SHOES BEHIND

WWC: LEAVING MY SHOES BEHIND

A day before this week’s Weekly Writing Challenge ends, I found a very timely inspiration. Just 20 minutes ago, a high school classmate and friend tagged me on a picture on Facebook of friendship letters her classmates (including me) made for her before we graduated in high school in 1996 and parted ways. My heart really skipped when I read what I had to write in her book of memoirs 18 years ago; I wrote a poem! Oh my, oh my…I was poetic after all, hahaha. I forgot that part of me. I really thanked her for the reminder. πŸ™‚

It was a poem that meant to tell her that no matter the distance and the trials and the different paths we take, and no matter how long we see each other again, she will always have a friend in me. I even translated some of it in Spanish! I never thought I had done that 18 years ago. I was such a terrifying 16 year old, I could say now! haha.

Now, the most interesting part; the one written in the upper right corner of the left page. My friend planned to be a nurse by profession; I could remember why she wanted to be a nurse. She plans to travel and work abroad as a nurse to meet Tom Cruise, yeah the actor. πŸ™‚ And for me, I could hardly read what I wrote so I asked my friend what I wrote I dreamed to be……I want to become a….JOURNALIST! πŸ™‚

It hit me hard. I wanted to be a journalist all along. Looking back the path I took in the last 18 years since I wrote my heart in my friend’s book, I never regretted any of it. From where I stand now, I was really meant to wear my shoes at this very moment because however late I might be, I had still lived my dream to write all the same; not being a journalist however but a blogger who inspires today. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “WWC: LEAVING MY SHOES BEHIND

  1. Swoosieque says:

    It is always heartwarming to find trinkets of our youth to remind us of our innocence and dreams. Don’t give up on journalism, you are still young, never say “never.” πŸ˜€

    • wildflower says:

      So heartwarming indeed. I can’t believe it myself, it was really inside me all along. It took a friend to remind me of once my dream πŸ™‚ And yes, I think I might just do something about it one of these days πŸ˜‰

I so love to hear from you! :-)

