I DON’T WANT TO BE FRESHLY PRESSED!

So you really think I don’t want to be freshly pressed? No? Of course I do—want to be Freshly Pressed. But sometimes, thinking I could do it is far-fetched.

Everybody wants it; who am I not to want it. So, I googled the “hows” and found tipsΒ from the support page of WordPress on how to be featured. But, here are why sometimes I couldn’t care less:

Write unique content that’s free of bad stuff. I think I’m doing this all the time, but my topics may not be unique enough. All my posts are impromptu, so I don’t really hang long to brightly finish my posts. In short, I just write whatever pops anytime of the day; and with errors at that. The photo and writing challenges are really good prompts; makes me feel that I am already freshly pressed when my entries are “liked”, commented on, and linked. It’s a great cover for the real thing. πŸ™‚

Have a point of view. I think I also have my own points of views in my posts, but I know they are not strong enough to stir controversies. I have a lot of provocative topics in mind; but just the thought of possible haters comments swarming in my comments posts makes me not to write about them at all. I don’t think I can stand comments if I rant something about some “foreigners owning Philippine Sea territories” or “Filipinos discriminated overseas”; hot topics. But, I write to make friends; not to make enemies. I know these are just possibilities, but I prefer to stay on the safe side. I made friends and its just the way how I want it to be. So, I say, no controversy for me just yet for today or on any day! πŸ™‚

Don’t be afraid of your voice.Β I have my own little voice, but I am not always confident. But, yes, I am embracing it. I am always honest that I sometimes, if not most of the time, fall short of English words. haha. Just a trivia about me, when I am writing a post, I thought of it first in my “first” language then translate it in English when I am typing through the keyboard. I am always, always translating. I had to type fast because I might forget my ideas. πŸ™‚

Paint us a picture.Β Β Most of the time, I write on the spot; so I cannot always put visuals. All Freshly Pressed articles I have seen are all depicted. It dawned on me just now that maybe…this is the ultimate reason why until now I was not featured..hmm..hahaha. Just kidding. πŸ™‚

Make it easy on the eyes. Oh my, this one is easy. I cannot write anything that’s too long because as I’ve said, I have limited English. But the sad part is, I could go on slowly translating; such irony. So sometimes I get so overwhelmed and write in long paragraphs and forget to break them down; surely, my post would look lousy. But my site now is so easy on the eyes; I changed the theme in one of the Zero to Hero challenges. I might get lucky this time! πŸ™‚

Add relevant tags.Β I am doing this all time; I could not go wrong at this. I swear! πŸ™‚

Write a headline we can’t ignore.Β So what do you think am I doing with this post? Do you really think I don’t want to be Freshly Pressed???? haha. I couldn’t agree more on this tip. I, for one, am always interested on the title before I click to read; it has to be catchy and something that speaks of the whole post. (Getting it from someone who doesn’t practice what she preaches. haha) I suck in making headlines and might be one “because” my post can’t attract attention. I have no hurt feelings, though. Honest. πŸ™‚

Aim for typo-free content.Β This one I cannot perfect. With my fingers scrambling through the keyboard before I forget my thoughts, I am always typo-full. Sometimes I immediately press the publish button without even proofreading. I am always thankful of the “Edit” button; it is made for me. I am thankful more that editing is limitless; because even days after I publish a post, that’s when I proofread and every time I read my post like a second person, I always always find errors. πŸ™‚

So, that’s it. I am my own critic. Going through this is so liberating. Now, I don’t have anybody telling me why I can’t be Freshly Pressed. haha

The truth is, I really want to. πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “I DON’T WANT TO BE FRESHLY PRESSED!

  1. Swoosieque says:

    I think you are an incredible writer and I have never noticed any grammatical errors, not that I was looking for any. I do not know “how” the Freshly Pressed judges truly choose their articles. Quite often, I will scan through their list and find nothing that interests me. Your blog interests me and many others, everyday! πŸ˜€

    • wildflower says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ Through time, I already mastered the art of translating.haha. But really, its true that practice makes perfect, so i try to write every other day since I started this blog. I just hope I don’t run out of something interesting. πŸ™‚ the freshly pressed thing is just one of my inspirations to keep writing and to keep improving πŸ™‚

I so love to hear from you! :-)

