DP: TEACHING

Today, I was inspired by my little exchange of comments with the adventurous Capt. Jill on speaking other languages. I also remembered I taught the poetic willowdot21 two most used Filipino phrases. I might as well write some translations of commonly used phrases in English, Filipino (Tagalog), Davao-Bisaya (Filipino dialect), ilonggo (Filipino dialect); two languages and two dialects I speak. 🙂

English                     Filipino (Tagalog)                     Davao-Bisaya                       Ilonggo

Good Morning  –      Magandang Umaga       –             Maayong Buntag        –   Maayo nga Aga

Good Evening      –       Magandang Gabi   –          Maayong Gabi-i        –       Maayo nga gab-i

I love you       –       Mahal Kita               –           Nahigugma ako kanimo –      Naluyag ako sa imo

Thank You    –      Salamat                  –              Salamat                        –      Salamat

How are you?  –   Kumusta ka?           –           Kumusta ka?                  –    Kamusta ka?

I’m Fine         –    Mabuti po               –             Maayo man                  –   Mayad man

What’s your name?-   Ano ang pangalan mo?  –  Unsa imong pangalan? –      Ano ngalan mo?

This list could go far. If you want to have some words translated, comment me and I would be very glad to help. 🙂

6 thoughts on “DP: TEACHING

I so love to hear from you! :-)

