DAUGHTER, THANK YOU FOR ACCIDENTALLY DELETING THE CANDY CRUSH APP IN MY TABLET

sweet candy crush

I have no taste for electronic games since the conventional “brick games” 20 years ago. Back then, I got hooked on keeping up until the last level, but later realized what a little fool I had been to be burning candles for such non-sense. It was not an online game then, so my equal opponent is my own self to conquer all levels.

The computer games virtually evolved and its popularity took a quantum leap in the last 20 years, I observe. And now, I get blanked out sometimes when asked about what games I play in my social media account, because everybody is playing and seems to be enjoying it and I don’t. Simply because I don’t know any games and it does not interest me at all.

5 or 6 years ago, I tried playing “Farmtown”. The only good thing I found useful in “Farmtown” is: the re-living of my interactive connections with my childhood friends and classmates. I get to communicate with old and new acquaintances by asking if I could use a little help, or if they can be charitable enough to give me livelihood so I can buy things to cultivate my little virtual farm. But eventually, I got tired of asking help and my farm totally abandoned.

For almost 2 years, I receive incessant notifications in my Facebook account to join and play “The Candy Crush Saga.” Being a busy person of all sorts, I don’t want to buy time anymore just to waste for another “Farmtown-like” game.

I have never opened the application until 3 or 4 months ago. I tried to open it out of curiosity and found the serpent-like pathways in increasing levels and found the faces of my Facebook friends beside the levels they conquered. The background music was like hypnotizing me to try and taste the “candies”. So, I tried level 1. So simple and I’m not challenged at all. The voice behind “Sugar Crush!” at the end of a successful level is so hypnotizing as well, making me jump to level 2, then 3, then 4, and so on. The real battle begins when I already wanted to surpass everyone in the higher levels. I even used “cheats” to prolong my life and not ask “lives” from friends anymore. I became immortal, thus, the never-ending, time-consuming, and heartbreaking addiction of the “Candy Crush Saga”.

I knew a lot of my friends who were equally hooked as me, even research in the internet shows the same stats. Considering that me and my friends were only a speck of the World Statistics, it is so alarming. Not only the Candy Crush in particular but all popular online games applications that are easily downloadable.  

I give credit to the joined forces of portable electronic gadgets, social media, and virtual computer games in giving birth to my so-called “Global Love Crisis” called “indifference”. Such disturbing apathy is widespread at homes and even in workplaces around the globe.

When I am playing hard and focused, I lose track of time and persons around the house.  I sometimes cannot even remember what meal I just ate, “did I just did a breakfast or a lunch?”  My productivity lessened and my personal relationship was affected. I wouldn’t even be blogging now had I not realized how rubbish online games are!

I was in level 137 in the Candy Crush Saga when my daughter was playing with my tablet and accidentally deleted the app. In a heartbeat, I was furious of a cold turkey; I cannot contain the feeling of abruptly letting go of the long and hard earned levels. But I eventually became very thankful to the clouds that the app was accidentally deleted. I broke free from the virtual world and came back to earth. Indeed, a blessing in disguise. 🙂

20 thoughts on “DAUGHTER, THANK YOU FOR ACCIDENTALLY DELETING THE CANDY CRUSH APP IN MY TABLET

  1. angloswiss says:

    I was with you on the journey to game freedom. I did quite a lot, but also Farm Town. I even had five farms in Farm town and was so successful that it was no longer a success to enjoy. I did cold turkey and stopped all the Zynga stuff and farm Town, but I did start Sugar Crush some time ago. I find it a game i can leave or not, no problem. I do not play with friends and I even cancelled the app myself a few times, but now have it laying on my iPad for use or not. It is really getting your life back when you stop all those games. There should be a page in facebook – The gameless gamers and how we conquered the addiction.

    • wildflower says:

      Yes, I think that is a good page 🙂 I bet a lot of people can relate to it, just imagine the 500 million Candy Crush app uploads means the same number of game players. Notwithstanding the other million more uploads of other online games. Some could really use a little help from pages like that to conquer addiction 🙂

  2. Steven Clark says:

    I have not had the fortune of my daughters deleting something that had a destructive effect on me, but I do know how games can get addictive. My mother-in-law had passwords to two other Facebook accounts so she could manage their Farmville games. It was then she realized just how entrenched she was and gave it all up.

    Since then she’s made over 700 consecutive posts on her blog. Much better use of her time, I believe.

    I’m guessing you hugged your daughter for deleting the app?

    • wildflower says:

      You guessed right 🙂 And like your mother-in-law I also got to publish more posts than when I still had the app in my tab! To break my candy crush obsession, I had to have a turning point. I’m just glad my daughter did it for me 🙂

I so love to hear from you! :-)

