HOW MORE UGLY CAN UGLIER GET TO MAKE IT THE UGLIEST?

The levels of ugliness confuse me, as much as the word “ugly” itself. I don’t think ugliness even exists. Each one of us is beautiful inside out. We just have to look for ourselves because sometimes, we are blinded by comparing ourselves with others and by being always conscious of how others see us.

One funny experience I had when I was still in school, I had this group of girl friends. Some of our classmates thought we are pleasant looking (ahem :-)) except for one. One day, a male classmate itched his way to ask me straight faced why we hang out with this “ugly” curly-haired girl. I looked at him dumbfounded for seconds and laughed. When I gained composure, I asked him back, “why do you care so much?” I don’t think his query deserves a very good long answer. Such non-sense. From that time on, I pitied him.

Before me and my ex-boyfriend (now my husband :-)) dated virtually, he used to ask his family back in the Philippines to send him pictures of girls they knew that he might be interested to date. His sister sent him pictures, including mine. His first reaction was to compare the looks and the smile. He chose me. Looking back now, I realize how looks impact on the decision made. Had it been that I was the one who looked ugly in the picture, I would not have a love story to tell now :-). But, through time, my ex-boyfriend realized that I’m not just a pleasant face in the picture, or so he thought :-).

I came across a Classified Ads section of a local newspaper and found bits of ads on Jobs Hiring. One qualification I found common on those ads was “Pleasing Personality”. “Why do they have to need that?”, I thought to myself. If I were the applicant, I’d second guess the rest of the Job responsibilities and before they reject me, I will reject them first!

I had my fair share of experiences and happy to have looks above average (haha! forgive me, its just my husband who thought so :-)). But then again, I find it so unbecoming to consider the looks when making decisions and when making friends. Good looks fade with time, but never the good heart that is under it.

2 thoughts on “HOW MORE UGLY CAN UGLIER GET TO MAKE IT THE UGLIEST?

I so love to hear from you! :-)

